Skip to main content
Schneider Electric

Cross-Brand Contactor Substitution: What Changes Beyond the Label

A Schneider TeSys D-style contactor and a Chint NC1-series contactor can look interchangeable at a glance, but the substitution passes through twelve axes — coil voltage, contact rating, terminal layout, electrical endurance, certification scope. Here is what the datasheet says, what it does not, and where you should stop and call the engineer.

Cross-Brand Contactor Substitution: What Changes Beyond the Label

A panel builder in Sverdlovsk opens a Schneider Electric TeSys D LC1D contactor, notes the coil voltage, walks to the surplus shelf, picks up a Chint NC1-3210 contactor, and assumes the swap is mechanical. Both clip onto a 35 mm DIN rail and both carry a 25 A AC-3 marking. The substitution looks obvious on the bench and it almost never is — it passes through twelve axes, not one. Coil voltage band, contact rating, electrical endurance, terminal pitch, auxiliary block fit, certification scope, ambient derating. The desk that does the comparison writes a twelve-axis report with each axis tagged matched, differs, or unknown, and the engineering team closes it. The desk does not declare any candidate a drop-in; the call is the customer's.

By A. Maren of the Sourcing Desk. Independent industrial-automation distributor and sourcing desk; not an authorized distributor; not the manufacturer. Last updated 22 September 2026. As of September 2026 the desk sources contactors from independent China-based channels and reports certification scope per line per the BOM. Data Notes: catalog evidence drawn from internal Schneider TeSys D LC1D family product records (LC1D09 through LC1D95 frames) and Chint NC1-series records (NC1-0910, NC1-1210, NC1-1810, NC1-2510, NC1-3210, NC1-4011, NC1-6511, NC1-8011, NC2-630). Endurance figures cited as the manufacturer publishes them on the regional datasheets the desk holds; where the figure is not stated by the manufacturer on the regional datasheet, the desk records the axis as unknown. The desk is not the manufacturer and is not a certification body; the desk does not certify substitutions for safety-rated circuits, certified assemblies, or safety-instrumented functions.

The question the buyer actually asks

A Russian panel-shop buyer types one of these into a search box or an AI assistant:

  • «Можно ли ставить контактор другого бренда вместо Schneider?» — Can I fit a non-Schneider contactor in place of the Schneider one?
  • «Можно ли заменить импортный контактор китайским?» — Can I replace an imported contactor with a Chinese one?
  • «Аналог контактора Schneider TeSys — что можно поставить?» — A substitute for a Schneider TeSys contactor — what can I fit?
  • «Есть ли контактор, который подойдёт один в один?» — Is there an off-the-shelf substitute contactor?

The honest answer that fits the question is: "outline-similar, electrically rated per axis, with the customer's own qualification process doing the final pass." The desk does not claim any candidate is a one-to-one substitute for the original. Those phrases are reserved by the manufacturer cross-reference process, and an independent desk does not earn them by guessing.

Why the bench-glance answer is wrong

The trap is that a low-voltage AC-3 contactor is one of the most standardised electromechanical components in the catalogue. IEC 60947-4-1 governs the test method, the AC-3 utilisation category sets the make/break ratings, the DIN-rail mounting (EN 60715) is universal, the IP2x terminal protection is universal, and the ring-lug or fork-lug wiring range overlaps across most 9 A to 150 A frames. From the outside, a 25 A frame from brand A and a 25 A frame from brand B look like the same product.

The standardisation is real. It is also incomplete. Here is what the datasheet does not normalise across brands, and what the substitution must verify one axis at a time:

  • Coil voltage band and inrush. Schneider TeSys D LC1D coils are offered in standard AC and DC ranges; Chint NC1 coils cover the same nominal voltages but with a wider tolerance band on some codes. A 220 V DC coil on one brand can pull in from 176 V; on another brand the same marking can require 198 V minimum. Inrush current also differs — the DC coil economy variants draw less than the AC equivalents, which matters when one contactor shares a 24 VDC power supply with a PLC and an HMI.
  • Electrical endurance (AC-3 cycles). IEC 60947-4-1 sets the test conditions but not the published endurance figure. Schneider publishes 1.5 to 2.0 million AC-3 operations for the TeSys D LC1D25 frame at 415 V; Chint NC1-3210 publishes a lower figure at the same conditions. Same frame, same AC-3 category, different cycle count. If the application is a motor that starts and stops 60 times an hour, the difference is not academic.
  • Mechanical endurance and contact material. Silver alloy composition, arc-chamber geometry, and the way the moving contact bridges during the make operation are not standardised. Brand A may rate the contactor for 10 million mechanical operations with AgSnO2 contacts; brand B may use AgCdO and publish 5 million. Cadmium is also restricted in some jurisdictions — a substituted unit may bring a material compliance issue into the cabinet that the original did not.
  • Auxiliary contact block mounting and tooling. The 1 NO / 1 NC add-on block attaches to the front face on both families, but the snap-fit geometry, the screw torque on the contact block fixing, and the test-probe access window differ. A contactor pulled out of the surplus shelf without its original auxiliary block will accept the wrong block from the bench drawer and pass the bench test; the wrong block will fail under real load.
  • Terminal pitch, screw head, and tightening torque. The terminals themselves accept the same wire range, but the screw head may be Pozidriv-2 on one brand and a combination slot on another. The published torque values also differ by frame: Schneider publishes 2.5 N·m on the LC1D25 power terminals; Chint publishes a comparable figure that is not identical. A panel builder who follows one datasheet and torques to the other datasheet has under-tightened or over-tightened one of the two.
  • Mounting width and clip orientation. Both clip onto a 35 mm DIN rail, but the clip direction (top-load vs. bottom-load) and the body width can differ by 2 to 4 mm on the same AC-3 frame. In a tight cabinet the 4 mm pushes the next device out of its design position and crowds the wiring duct.
  • Ambient derating above 40 °C. Both datasheets derate above 40 °C, but the curves differ. A cabinet that runs at 55 °C inside an unventilated enclosure will see the brand-A unit rated at full current while the brand-B unit is rated at 0.85 × Ie. Same marking on the side of the device, different usable current in the field.
  • Approvals and certification scope. Schneider TeSys D holds a bundle of regional approvals (CE, UL, CCC, EAC in the manufacturer's documentation). Chint NC1 holds a different bundle (CCC, CE; UL coverage is partial or absent on some codes). A cabinet destined for the EAC regime must show manufacturer-side documentation covering every component; a substitution that drops a CE-only candidate into an EAC-required cabinet is a paperwork problem, not just a wiring problem.
  • Coil surge suppressor fit. Many DIN-rail contactors accept a plug-in surge suppressor (RC, varistor, or diode). The suppressor receptacle and pin layout is not standardised across brands. A surge suppressor pulled out of a TeSys D and offered to an NC1 will physically fit on some frames and short the coil on others.

The twelve axes, walked

The desk applies the same twelve-axis framework to every cross-reference report. For a contactor pair the relevant axes are:

  1. Form / fit outline and mounting — DIN-rail clip direction, body width, height with/without auxiliary block, mounting hole pattern for screw-mounted frames above 150 A.
  2. Dimensions — body width in 1 mm steps, depth including wiring duct allowance, weight (for cabinet loading calculations).
  3. Interface / terminal assignment — terminal pitch on power poles, terminal pitch on coil terminals, screw head type, torque values per terminal.
  4. Electrical ratings — Ie (AC-3 rated operational current), Ie (AC-1), coil voltage and tolerance band, inrush and sealed VA, surge suppressor compatibility.
  5. Mechanical ratings — mechanical endurance cycles, contact material, arc-chamber geometry.
  6. Environmental class — operating temperature range, storage temperature, humidity, pollution degree per IEC 60947-1, vibration and shock.
  7. Ingress / temperature — IP rating of the body (IP2x is universal; IP20 front face is standard), operating temperature derating curve.
  8. Materials — contact alloy, housing flammability (UL94 V-0 vs. V-1), cadmium / lead / hexavalent chromium content.
  9. Certifications and lifecycle — CE, UL, CCC, EAC, marine approvals; date code format; PCN history.
  10. Function and I/O — number of main poles (3P, 4P), number of auxiliary contacts (1 NO, 1 NC, 2 NO, 1 NO + 1 NC), early-make / late-break options.
  11. Firmware and version — not applicable to electromechanical contactors; recorded as N/A so the axis is explicitly closed.
  12. Communication protocol — not applicable to electromechanical contactors; recorded as N/A so the axis is explicitly closed.

Each axis carries one of three outcomes: matched (the datasheet values agree within tolerance), differs (the values diverge and the substitution requires a customer engineering decision), or unknown (the manufacturer does not publish the figure, or the figure is published only in a regional datasheet we do not hold). An axis reported as unknown is not a silent skip; it goes into the report as a footnote that the customer's own qualification must close.

A worked example, no claim of equivalence

Take a Schneider TeSys D LC1D25 (25 A AC-3 at 415 V, 230 V AC coil, 1 NO + 1 NC auxiliary) as the original, and a Chint NC1-3210 (also 25 A AC-3 at 415 V, 230 V AC coil, 1 NO auxiliary) as the candidate. Outline-similar, both DIN-rail mounted, both 3-pole. Here is what the desk writes, axis by axis:

  • Form / fit outline and mounting: matched on paper. DIN-rail clip direction and 35 mm rail compliance per EN 60715. Body width differs by 2 mm.
  • Dimensions: differs. The NC1-3210 body width is wider; depth differs by 3 mm. Re-verify the wiring duct allowance.
  • Interface / terminal assignment: differs on screw head and torque. LC1D25 uses Pozidriv-2 at 2.5 N·m on power terminals; NC1-3210 publishes a combination slot at a torque figure we treat as not identical.
  • Electrical ratings: matched on Ie and coil nominal; differs on coil inrush. The AC coil inrush on the LC1D25 is published; the NC1-3210 inrush is reported as not stated by manufacturer on the regional datasheet we hold — recorded as unknown.
  • Mechanical ratings: differs. Endurance figures diverge; contact material is published as silver alloy on both, but exact alloy composition is reported as unknown.
  • Environmental class: matched on operating temperature range. Pollution degree 3 per IEC 60947-1 on both.
  • Ingress / temperature: matched on IP2x. Ambient derating curves differ above 40 °C — verify with the cabinet thermal report.
  • Materials: differs. Housing flammability rating is published by both; cadmium content in the contacts is reported as unknown on the NC1-3210 datasheet we hold.
  • Certifications and lifecycle: differs. CE and CCC on both; UL coverage on the LC1D25 vs. partial or absent UL coverage on the NC1-3210 is reported. EAC coverage is reported as unknown on both for the date-code range we stock; this is a cabinet-paperwork decision the customer must close.
  • Function and I/O: differs. Original is 1 NO + 1 NC auxiliary; candidate is 1 NO auxiliary. The customer's wiring diagram has to absorb the difference.
  • Firmware and version: N/A.
  • Communication protocol: N/A.

The desk's report ends with the line that always ends it: verify against the original manufacturer datasheet and your own qualification process. The desk does not declare the substitution drop-in, does not declare it a turn-key substitute, does not declare it «one-to-one substitute». The customer's engineering team closes the report.

Where the substitution must stop

Five cases where the desk returns the request without a cross-reference:

  1. Safety-rated contactors in emergency-stop circuits. IEC 60947-5-1 positively-guided contactors carry a specific construction requirement. A substitution across that requirement is a safety-circuit decision and is not a desk task.
  2. Capacitor-switching contactors (AC-6b). The inrush current on capacitor switching is ten to thirty times the steady-state current. The pre-insertion resistors built into dedicated capacitor-switching contactors are not generic. Cross-brand substitution without the original design's resistor arrangement is a written engineering change.
  3. Lift and crane applications (AC-4). Jogging and inching impose a heavier contact wear pattern. The contactor chosen for AC-4 service is chosen specifically. Cross-brand substitution is a written engineering change.
  4. Certified assemblies (UL 508A panel, IEC 61439 assembly, EAC-certified cabinet). The certification traces to the components on the bill of materials. Swapping a component out for one that is not on the certificate is a re-certification problem, not a desk task.
  5. Original contactor in a documented safety function (SIL / PL). The substitution is a safety-instrumented-function decision and is not a desk task.

If your request hits any of these five, the desk will tell you it is out of scope and will not write a cross-reference. We have walked away from these and will continue to.

What the desk actually delivers

When a substitution is in scope, the desk delivers a written cross-reference report that:

  • Names both original-side and candidate-side by manufacturer, family and the exact code held in the cabinet or quoted on the BOM.
  • Records the twelve axes with matched / differs / unknown for each.
  • Lists the certification scope on both sides, with the regional scope that the cabinet must clear.
  • Notes the configuration changes the customer's wiring diagram has to absorb (auxiliary contact count, terminal pitch, mounting width).
  • Ends with the line: verify against the original manufacturer datasheet and your own qualification process.

The report does not declare the substitution drop-in. It does not declare it a one-to-one substitute. It does not declare that the candidate carries the same regional approvals as the original. It leaves the engineering call where the engineering call belongs.

Once the report is in your hands and your engineering team has signed it off, the desk can source either the original or the candidate per line, per the BOM and per the condition the cabinet requires. The quote lists the condition on every single line, the certification evidence we hold for that line, and the per-line MOQ. Where the candidate and the original carry different certification scope, the line is marked accordingly and the cabinet paperwork decision stays with you.

The honest limits of the desk

We are not the manufacturer. We are not a certification body. We do not sign off on substitutions for safety-rated circuits, certified assemblies, or safety-instrumented functions. We do not declare any candidate a one-to-one substitute or a drop-in. We supply the report and we supply the parts once the report is closed. The substitution decision belongs to your engineering team, your quality system, and the certification scope your cabinet has to clear.

Next step

Send the BOM line that asks for the substitution — manufacturer, family, exact code, coil voltage, contact arrangement, and the certification scope the cabinet has to clear — to the sourcing desk via the inquiry page or via the procurement form. RFQ lines are quoted per the BOM, with the condition on every single line and the certification evidence the desk holds. The desk returns a written cross-reference report naming what matches on paper, what differs, and what is reported as unknown by the manufacturer. Source-side decisions stay with you; sourcing per line stays with us.


FAQ

Can I substitute a Schneider TeSys D contactor with a Chint NC1 series contactor in a control cabinet?

Outline-similar — both clip onto a 35 mm DIN rail, both accept the same ring-lug wire range, both carry a 25 A AC-3 rating at 415 V. The substitution has to be verified axis-by-axis on coil inrush, terminal torque, electrical endurance, auxiliary contact count, and the certification scope the cabinet has to clear. The substitution is not "drop-in"; the cross-reference report the desk writes lists what matches on paper and what differs.

What does the candidate contactor have to match for the swap to be in scope?

Twelve axes: outline and mounting, dimensions, terminal assignment, electrical ratings, mechanical ratings, environmental class, ingress and temperature derating, materials, certifications and lifecycle, function and I/O, firmware (N/A on a contactor), and communication protocol (N/A on a contactor). The desk records each as matched, differs, or unknown. An axis reported as unknown goes to your qualification process.

Are contactor substitutions across brands allowed in an EAC-certified cabinet?

The cabinet's EAC certificate traces to the components on the bill of materials. A contactor that is not on the certificate, or whose EAC scope is reported as unknown on the date code the desk holds, is a re-certification task. The desk does not certify the cabinet; the desk lists the EAC scope on both sides and leaves the paperwork decision to the customer's compliance owner.

Why do contactor datasheets not agree on AC-3 endurance figures?

IEC 60947-4-1 sets the test method and the utilisation category, not the endurance figure the manufacturer publishes. Schneider, Chint, ABB and LS Electric each publish their own cycle count at AC-3 conditions. The figure is one of the axes the desk writes into the cross-reference report — it is not the same across brands, and it is not interchangeable.

Does the auxiliary contact block swap with the contactor?

No. The auxiliary block snap-fits to the front face, but the snap-fit geometry, the screw torque on the contact block fixing, and the test-probe access window differ across brands. A block pulled out of a TeSys D and offered to an NC1 will physically fit on some frames and fail under real load on others. The block is reported as a separate line on the BOM and on the quote.

Can the desk ship the candidate and the original in the same consolidated consignment?

Yes. The desk sources per line and consolidates the order into a single shipment. The quote lists the condition on every single line — new surplus, refurbished, or used — and the certification evidence the desk holds for that line. The per-line MOQ is set by the manufacturer and the channel, not by the desk.

What does the desk do if the substitution is out of scope?

The desk tells you it is out of scope and does not write the cross-reference. Out-of-scope substitutions include safety-rated contactors in emergency-stop circuits, capacitor-switching contactors, lift and crane (AC-4) service, certified assemblies, and contactors in documented safety-instrumented functions. The desk has walked away from these and will continue to.

Last updated: September 28, 2026